clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Villa reveal squad numbers, are still literally searching for a #10

Aston Villa have revealed their squad numbers for the 2015-16 season.

Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Villa don't have a traditional number ten on the roster right now, and so they've decided to literally not put a number ten on the roster. The club released squad numbers today, and while there are plenty of interesting ones to talk about, the lack of anyone at 10 is perhaps the most eyebrow raising.

There is plenty of speculation that the number is being reserved for Emmanuel Adebayor, should his move from Tottenham finally materialise. But even if it doesn't, it's hard to see anyone who would usually be a 10 on the roster right now anyways. If there is anything to be read into the list it's that clearly Villa are still searching for someone to fill the gap.

Elsewhere, we get a few glimpses at what to expect this year. Brad Guzan, who has faced plenty of speculation about his starting position from fans over the summer, is still wearing number 1. Micah Richards, the new team captain, will take over the number 4 shirt from Ron Vlaar. New signings Idrissa Gueye, Jordan Veretout, Jordan Ayew, Jordan Amavi, Mark Bunn, Jose Angel Crespo, and Rudy Gestede will wear numbers 8, 17, 19, 23, 31, 33, and 39, respectively.

Notably absent is Aleksandar Tonev. If you wanted a sign as to whether or not he was going to play for Villa this year, there you go.

Here's the whole list:

1 - Brad Guzan

2 - Nathan Baker

3 - Joe Bennett

4 - Micah Richards

5 - Jores Okore

6 - Ciaran Clark

7 - Leandro Bacuna

8 - Idrissa Gueye

9 - Scott Sinclair

11 - Gabby Agbonlahor

12 - Joe Cole

13 - Jed Steer

14 - Philippe Senderos

15 - Ashley Westwood

17 - Jordan Veretout

18 - Kieran Richardson

19 - Jordan Ayew

21 - Alan Hutton

22 - Gary Gardner

23 - Jordan Amavi

24 - Carlos Sanchez

25 - Carles Gil

26 - Lewis Kinsella

27 - Libor Kozak

28 - Charles N'Zogbia

29 - Rushian Hepburn-Murphy

30 - Andre Green

31 - Mark Bunn

32 - Janoi Donacien

33 - Jose Angel Crespo

37 - Callum Robinson

39 - Rudy Gestede

40 - Jack Grealish