clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Aston Villa vs. Bolton Wanderers, Carling Cup: Lineups And Open Match Thread

New, comments

Aston Villa vs. Bolton Wanderers
Location: Villa Park
Date: Tuesday, September 20th

Time: 19:45 GMT/11:45am PT/2:45pm ET

 

Carling Cup, Round Three

200px-bolton_wanderers_fc

GK: Shay Given
GK: Adam Bogdan
D: Stephen Warnock D: Gretar Steinsson
D: Richard Dunne D: David Wheater
D: James Collins D: Gary Cahill
D: Alan Hutton D: Ricardo Gardner
MF: Barry Bannan MF: Gael Kakuta
MF: Stiliyan Petrov MF: Fabrice Muamba
MF: Stephen Ireland MF: Stuart Holden
MF:Marc Albrighton
MF: Darren Pratley
F: Gabby Agbonlahor MF: Chris Eagles
F: Nathan Delfouneso F: David N'Gog

 

Aston Villa Subs:

Brad Guzan, Habib Beye, Fabian Delph, Charles N'Zogbia, Graham Burke, Shane Lowry

Bolton Subs:

Jussi Jaaskelainen, Paul Robinson, Tuncay Sanli, Martin Petrov, Kevin Davies, Mark Davies, Robbie Blake

Well, that's...kind of what I was hoping to see from Villa, and given the youth in the side I suppose it's somewhat understandable that we see Petrov. The defense is bizarre however, and I don't really understand how Habib Beye and Graham Burke are making the 18 while Ciaran Clark and Carlos Cuellar are not. (Unless they're hurt and I missed it, which is possible.)

Bolton puts out an interesting side and it's easy to forget how much young attacking talent is on this squad, at least for the remainder of the year. People love to write off David N'Gog as a bad player but he's 22 years old and with regular time he could end up being a good one for the Trotters. Gael Kakuta is a player I kind of wanted Villa to make a move for over the summer and he's probably going to be a handful. That defense though; Cahill is very good and Wheater is a decent player, but if Gabby and Albrighton can find space down the wing it could be fun to watch.