clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Women's World Cup Open Thread - Semifinals: France-USA and Japan-Sweden

New, comments

 

 

France_medium


France versus United States
Location: Borussia-Park (Germany)
Date: Wednesday July 13, 2011

Time: 17:00 BST/12:00 EDT/09:00 PDT

Preview at SBN Soccer

Lineups and StoryStream at SBN Soccer

Winner advances to finals. 

 

 

Us_medium

 

Japan_medium

Japan versus Sweden
Location: Frankfurt FIFA WWC Stadium (Germany)
Date: Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Time: 19:45 BST/14:45 EDT/11:45 PDT

Preview at SBN Soccer.

Winner advances to finals.

Sweden_medium

 

Today's two matches will be hard-pressed to live up to the incredible quarterfinals from this past weekend. Nevertheless, they will be played. In the first match, two teams who advanced on penalty kicks face off as France takes on the miracle-of-the-moment United States. The United States are the favorite, but as a soccer fan, I've learned to take nothing for granted. Sweden was the only team to have an easy go of it in the quarterfinals, so they may have the advantage of rest, but Japan's squad play like a well-oiled machine.

It should be a fun day of soccer, and I hope you all join us in the comments below! Sadly, there will be neither vuvuzelas nor Diego Maradona. But there will be great soccer!