clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Wigan vs. Aston Villa: Open Match Thread

New, comments

 

Wigan Athletic versus Aston Villa
Location: DW Stadium (Wigan)
Date: Tuesday, January 25th
Time: 19:45 BST/2:45 p.m. EST/11:45 a.m. PST
Records (W-D-L, +/-, Place):
Wigan Athletic, 4-10-9, -18, 18th
Aston Villa, 6-7-10, -14, 16th

 

Wigan:

Starting: Al Habsi, Gohouri, McCarthy, Thomas, Di Santo, N'Zogbia, S. Caldwell, McArthur, Boyce, Rodallega, Figueroa

Subs:Pollitt, Watson, Moses, Gomez, Diame, Stam, McManaman

Aston Villa:

Starting: Friedel, Cuellar, Collins, Dunne, Baker, Agbonlahor, Reo-Coker, Makoun, Downing, A. Young, Bent

Subs: Marshall, Heskey, Delfouneso, Petrov, Pires, Albrighton

It would appear as though the rotation is in full effect, though it must be said that's an awfully defensive midfield from Houllier. In a bit of a surprise Nathan Baker gets the start at LB, with Gerard keeping the trend of four CBs across the back going for another night. The biggest news is of course that Jean Makoun is making his first appearance for Villa, which isn't a surprise necessarily but still exciting.

I wouldn't read too much into anything regarding tonight's lineup; with five games in eleven days a rotation is to be expected. Ciaran Clark and Marc Albrighton were both due a breather and though Petrov was excellent against Manchester City he hasn't exactly displayed a tremendous amount of stamina as he works his way back to fitness. The exception to that would be Barry Bannan's exclusion from not only the starting lineup but from the 18 entirely. If he's injured I haven't heard about it, so you've got to wonder just a little bit what's going on. It's been awhile since we've seen him.

Biggest game of the season. Need all three points.