clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Open World Cup Thread, Semifinal #2: Germany - Spain

New, comments
DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA - JUNE 12:  Well this isn't nearly as picturesque.  (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)
DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA - JUNE 12: Well this isn't nearly as picturesque. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)
Getty Images

11:30 AM PDT/2:30 PM EST/19:30 GMT. Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban, South Africa.

One of these teams was expected to be here, the other was not. One of these teams has played largely like crap and coasted on its unparalleled talent while the other has destroyed pretty much everything in its path. Spain's performance in this World Cup serves as proof that talent isn't everything while simultaneously serving as proof that superior talent will generally triumph. Germany are serving as proof that oh my God England, play the kids.

Many pundits are saying things to the effect of "Germany can't possibly keep playing this well!" or "They've peaked too soon!" and all manner of other nonsense. This line of thinking is fantastically annoying to me. "Hey, instead of admitting that we were perhaps mistaken about Germany's ability and level of readiness to compete at this level, let's attribute it to unsustainably good form! Then, if they lose to the best team in the world we can blame it on the very things we said would be an issue for them coming into the tournament and if they win it will be such a huge story that no one will remember what we said in the first place!"