Women's World Cup Open Thread

It feels great to be watching soccer again.

Well, we had numerous threads last summer for the World Cup, so why not have at least one for the Women's version? I've been watching while at work, and the soccer has been as enjoyable as anything we watched with Villa this year. Obviously, I'm hoping the US Women can add a third star above their crest (and they're off to a good start by beating North Korea 2-0), but I bet a number of you are pulling for England. The host country is Germany. 

So feel free to use this thread as a place to discuss the matches in general. I'll be sure to chip in when I get the chance to watch. For today, we've got the first round of group D matches, with Norway taking on Equatorial Guinea at 9 AM Eastern time (6 AM Pacific and 2 PM London) and Brazil (one of the favorites this tournament) facing Australia at 12:15 Eastern (9:15 Pacific, 5:15 London). 

If you're in the states, all of the games are on ESPN and ESPN3. Elsewhere... find yourself a feed. And sadly, vuvuzelas don't seem to be popular in this tournament. 

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker