World Cup Open Thread: July 2, 2010

RUSTENBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - A rare photo of Luis Suarez upright. (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

Netherlands v Brazil--7:00 AM PDT/10:00 AM EDT/15:00 GMT

Uruguay v Ghana--11:30 AM PDT/2:30 PM EDT/19:30 GMT

I'll be wearing my Hup Holland Hup scarf over my pajamas tomorrow morning, staring down at my bright orange toenails. The Dutch may not be looking Brilliantly Orange but with Arjen Robben on the pitch, the sparkle seems to be back. Now if Robin van Persie would stop letting his ego control the game, the Netherlands just might be able to take down Brazil. The Brazilians are playing dirty defensive football, totally turning me off to their squad. The Dutch strength in their forward pressure will meet the Brazilian strength in their back line and oh god please don't make this go into penalties because after yesterday's Sounders match my heart won't be able to take it.

I only wish that my "I Heart Uruguay" shirt could've arrived in time for this match, so I'll be crossing all my fingers and toes that they progress into the semi-finals. Uruguay have been spot on and shouldn't have a problem getting through Ghana's defense while Ghana will probably not be able to penetrate Uruguay's back line. At least, that's my hope, unless La Celeste have a bit of a mind fart like they did against South Korea.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker