World Cup Open Thread, June 29th 2010

Paraguay - Japan, 7:00 AM PDT/10:00 AM EDT/15:00 GMT

Spain - Portugal, 11:30 AM PDT/2:30 PM EDT/19:30 GMT

Paraguay - Japan is probably my favorite matchup of the round of sixteen, at least from a rooting-for-the-underdogs perspective. Neither team seems capable of making too deep of a run, but both have a young core and some very good talent in the youth ranks. Making it to the quarter finals would be something of an announcement of their arrival as legitimate powers in international football. 

Too bad the prize for winning will be a date with either Portugal or Spain. These are two of the better teams remaining in the tournament and in some ways it's a shame one of them will be going home this early in the going. In other ways, it would be awesome if Ronaldo went home this early in the going. Man is he really unlikable.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker