Open World Cup Thread, June 25th 2010


North Korea - Ivory Cost, 7:00 AM PDT/10:00 AM EDT/15:00 GMT

Portugal - Brazil, 7:00 AM PDT/10:00 AM EDT/15:00 GMT

Switzerland - Honduras, 11:30 AM PDT/2:30 PM EDT/19:30 GMT

Chile - Spain, 11:30 AM PDT/2:30 PM EDT/19:30 GMT

As hard as it is to believe, these are the final four matches of the group stage. Group G is all but decided; Ivory Coast are still eligible to advance in the technical sense, but in order for that to happen Portugal must lose and the Ivory Coast must defeat North Korea by at least ten goals. The good news for the Ivory Coast is that if any team in this tournament could surrender ten goals, it's most likely North Korea.

Group H is still fairly interesting; no teams have been mathematically eliminated, although Honduras advancing would require a minor miracle. Spain and Chile are most likely the favorites to advance, but Switzerland aren't in a terrible position. They'll be favored to beat Honduras and because Spain can't afford to play conservatively, the Swiss could see themselves through with a strong offensive performance. It seems reasonable to expect Spain and Switzerland to win, which would mean that a team with six points would fail to advance. Which, man that would really suck.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker