Open World Cup Thread, June 16th 2010

JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - JUNE 11: Be afraid, Fernando; that noise you just heard is a stowed-away Teej, coming to profess his eternal love and devotion. (Photo by Pablo Garcia/Marca via Getty Images)

Honduras - Chile, 4:30 AM PDT/7:30 AM EDT/12:30 GMT

Spain - Switzerland, 7:00 AM PDT/10:00 AM EDT/15:00 GMT

South Africa - Uruguay, 11:30 AM PDT/2:30 PM EDT/19:30 GMT

Good slate today, with the team generally regarded as the best in the tournament making their first appearance. Apparently both Andres Iniesta and Fernando Torres will play, which is good news for Spain and bad news for Switzerland. I'll be especially interested to have my first real look at Blaise Nkufo, the Swiss striker set to join Sounders FC after Switzerland's World Cup is over. Suffice to say he is not likely to encounter a back line of Spain's caliber in MLS.

The second round of play in Group A gets underway as well; I'd love to see South Africa take at least a point out of this, but it would probably be an understatement to say that the odds are most likely not in their favor. They impressed against Mexico, but Mexico doesn't have a goalscorer of Diego Forlan or Sebastien Abreu's caliber.

I don't have much insight into the Chile-Honduras matchup aside from the fact that it's really weird that Honduras feature two Wigan Athletic players. This match also features more players that I have seen play live than any other in the tournament, that number being two. Does anyone want to pay for me to spend a month in Europe and/or South America?

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Join 7500 To Holte

You must be a member of 7500 To Holte to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at 7500 To Holte. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker